Details about IAS exam


Exam overview:
Indian Administration Service ( IAS) is conducted by the Union public service commission (UPSC). It is the administration service of govt. of India. IAS officers hold their positions in the union government state government and in public sector also. It is a very respectful and most desirable job in India. IT is only for Indians. The examination contains three stages. In the year 2013, UPSC give new pattern and new syllabus for the IAS exam. Before 2013, the candidate choose two optional subject but according to the new pattern the candidate should choose one optional subject. And the weight age of the general knowledge is increased as prior. Indian Administrative Services examination schedule is announced in January or  February.

Who can apply for the Exam:
The candidate should be graduated from any recognized university. There is no minimum percentage required. for the general category candidates the age should be between 21 to 30 years and for the OBC/SC/ST/PH category candidates have some relaxation.
There is also attempts limits for the general category and OBC/PH category . The general category candidates can attempt the exam 4 times and the OBC/PH category candidates can attempts the exam 7 times. There is no limits of attempts for the SC/ST.

 How to apply:
The candidate can apply online as well as offline for the IAS exam. If you want to apply online then you should download the application form from the official website of the UPSC. There are 2 stages in online application form first is registration 1 and second is registration 2.  and you should also pay fee by the challan ans you have to take print out of the challan.
If you want to apply offline then you can buy application form from any specified post offices in the country. then you have to fill the form completely after that send it to the address mentioned in the form.

 Selection Procedure:
The IAS examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

This exam conduct every year and it is one of the toughest exams which are conducted by the UPSC.

The Exam consist of three stages.
Preliminary examination
Main examination

The Preliminary examination held in May or June and the Main examination held in the month of October or November and those candidates who can qualify both stages are called for the interview in the month of March or April of next year. The final recruitment and posting of the selected candidates depend on the rank and vacancies.

 Pattern of the Three stages:

Preliminary Examination:
Preliminary examination consist of two  papers and these are objective type papers and this exam carry 400 marks. Only those candidates who are eligible for this exam and for the Main exam can apply Preliminary exam. The marks obtained in the preliminary examination decided whether you can apply for the Main exam or not. The number of candidates selected for the Main examination are depend on the vacancies. They take the candidates approximate 12 or 13 times the total number of vacancies to be filled.   

Main examination:
 Main examination consist of nine papers and it comprises the essay type questions. Candidates who gets minimum qualifying marks can give the mains exam and in this the twice of the total number of vacancies , students can be choose.

 The Interview will carry 275 marks and the would determine in their final stage which the candidate get in the main examination and in interview.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here